Yesterday I stayed in bed because of a severe sore throat.
Last night, I called my mother, knowing she couldn't do anything, but wanting to hear her all the same.
I had been freaking out, thinking about going to the ER cause I felt so awful. Mom calmed me down, though. I'm not sure what it was she said, I think it was just knowing that she willingly woke up in the middle of the night and talked with me as I cried over the phone.
I felt like such a baby, sitting there on my bed crying. I hadn't cried like that in a long time.
turns out it was strep throat. as a friend here put it "strep is a bitch".
Yea, it is.
Things worked out this morning, though.
I got to the hospital just in time to be a walk in at the family practice. The doctor saw me pretty quickly, I got my prescription, and the nurse at my school filled it for me. By 10:20am I was on antibiotics. I slept better than I had last night (when I woke up every hour and had bad dreams).
I'm still feeling lousy, but the doctor said I would feel better tomorrow. In a way I'm really excited for tomorrow. Excited for feeling better. It's a bit more bearable knowing that it will soon end.
It's funny seeing what will break me. I sometimes consider myself to be strong - that in the heat of the moment I could take anything they throw at me. And there I was, crying to my mom over a sore throat. I guess I'm not so strong. Not on my own.
No comments:
Post a Comment